54th Robert H. Goddard Memorial Symposium

Leadership for Space: Opportunities and Challenges
March 8-10, 2016
Greenbelt Marriott / Greenbelt, Maryland

Final Program

Wednesday, March 9

Welcome and Announcements by Lyn Wigbels, AAS President

Opening Speaker, Jean-Jacques Dordain, Advisor to CNES President Jean-Yves Le Gall and former ESA Director General

Introduction of Keynote Speaker, Chris Scolese, Director, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center and Symposium Honorary Chair

Keynote, Charles F. Bolden, Jr., NASA Administrator
NASA Mission Directorates: Change, Continuity or Both?

  • Moderator: George Morrow, Deputy Director, NASA GSFC

    • Bill Gerstenmaier, Associate Administrator for Human Exploration and Operations
    • John Grunsfeld, Associate Administrator for Science
    • Robert Pearce, Deputy Associate Administrator for Aeronautics Research
    • Dennis Andrucyk, Deputy Associate Administrator for Space Technology

Honors and Awards Luncheon, Guest Speaker: John Holdren, Science Advisor to the President and Director, Office of Science and Technology Policy

Ken Sembach, Director, Space Telescope Science Institute

Evolution of a Space Policy: How to Achieve Consensus

  • Moderator: Frank Morring, Jr., Senior Editor, Aviation Week & Space Technology
    • Panelists:
    • Marcia Smith, President, Space and Technology Policy Group; Editor, SpacePolicyOnline.com
    • Lori Garver, General Manager, Air Line Pilots Association (ALPA)
    • Chris Shank, Policy Director for the Science, Space, and Technology Committee, House of Representatives
    • Sandy Magnus, Executive Director, American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA)
    • Mary Lynne Dittmar, Executive Director, Coalition for Deep Space Exploration

Space Technology Trajectories for the Future

  • Moderator: Stamatios M. “Tom” Krimigis, Head Emeritus and Principal Staff, Space Department, JHU/Applied Physics Laboratory
  • Panelists:
    • Jeff Sheehy, Senior Technical Officer, Space Technology Mission Directorate, NASA Headquarters
    • William “Red” Whittaker, Fredkin Professor of Robotics, The Robotics Institute, Carnegie Mellon University
    • Benjamin Reed, Satellite Servicing Capabilities Office, NASA GSFC
    • Thomas Pieronek, Vice President Research, Northrop Grumman Aerospace Systems

Closing Spotlight – James Webb Space Telescope

Nathaniel Kahn, Oscar- and Emmy-nominated maker of documentary films

Thursday, March 10

Introduction of Opening, Chris Scolese, Director, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center and Symposium Honorary Chair

Opening Speaker, William Wrobel, Director, NASA’s Wallops Flight Facility

NOAA’s Strategic Research and Partnerships

  • Moderator: Richard Spinrad, Chief Scientist, NOAA
  • Panelists:
    • Thomas Berger, Director, Space Weather Prediction Center, NOAA
    • Michael Freilich, Director, Earth Science Division, NASA Headquarters
    • Jack Hayes, Vice President, Weather Products and Services, Harris Corporation
    • RADM Timothy Gallaudet, USN, Oceanographer and Navigator of the Navy

International and Commercial Opportunities and Challenges

  • Moderator: Sam Scimemi, Director, International Space Station, NASA Headquarters
  • Panelists:
    • Jim Crocker, Vice President and General Manager, Lockheed Martin Space Systems Company International
    • Kathy Laurini, Senior Advisor, Exploration and Space Operations, NASA
    • Eric Stallmer, President, Commercial Spaceflight Federation
    • Mike Gold, Director, Chair, Commercial Space Transportation Advisory Committee (COMSTAC)

Luncheon Guest Speaker: Robert Lightfoot, NASA Associate Administrator

Spotlights: Changes in Workforce Development

Dan Dumbacher, Professor of Engineering Practice, School of
Aeronautics and Astronautics Engineering, Purdue University

Scott Drach, Senior Vice President, Human Resources & Administration, Boeing Defense & Space

Exploration and Science Missions: Vision 2020

  • Moderator: Steve Squyres, James A. Weeks Professor of Physical Sciences, Cornell University; Chair, NASA Advisory Council
  • Panelists:
    • Aki Roberge, Astrophysicist, Exoplanets and Stellar Astrophysics Lab, NASA GSFC
    • Therese Jorgensen, Program Director, National Science Foundation Space Weather Research
    • Ellen Stofan, Chief Scientist, NASA Headquarters
    • Eileen Stansbery, Deputy Director, Exploration Integration and Science; Chief Scientist, NASA JSC

Closing Thoughts/Spotlight, Robert Lightfoot and Chris Scolese