ISU Scholarships

Applications for the 2024 ISU Scholarship are now closed. Check back for more information on next year’s application!

American Astronautical Society Scholarship to the International Space University (ISU) for the 2024 Space Studies Program (SSP).

The American Astronautical Society (AAS) is pleased to offer the AAS International Space University Scholarship for students to attend ISU’s 2024 Space Studies Program (SSP) taking place in Houston, Texas, USA. $5,000 per individual will be awarded toward participation in the ISU program.

Eligibility and Selection Criteria

  • Applicants must be U.S. citizens.
  • Applicants must have completed an academic qualification at the level of a bachelor’s degree awarded by an accredited college or university.
  • Applicants must complete the online application and prepare a one-page essay to be submitted with the application.
  • In the selection process, preference will be given to AAS members, and also to members of Students for the Exploration and Development of Space (SEDS-USA).

The successful candidate will be required to:

  • Prepare, on request, an article on the “ISU experience” for publication in the AAS Space Times online magazine.
  • Be willing to serve as an AAS/ISU spokesperson at times and venues to be mutually agreed.

The deadline for the AAS Business Office to receive the completed application form and essay is February 15, 2024 23:59 EST.

NOTE: This is not an application for ISU admission. A separate application must be made for admission to ISU at To be considered for the Scholarship, this separate application to ISU must meet the University’s posted deadlines.

Selection of Award Recipient

The decision of the Scholarship Award Committee is final, and all candidates will be advised of the outcome by early March.

Disbursement of the Scholarship Award

Disbursement of the scholarship award will be made by AAS directly to the International Space University.

Scholarship Recipients:

  • 2023: Aida Silva, Kean University
  • 2022: Karin Metzgar, University of Southern California
  • 2021: Grant Kendall Bell, American University; Emily Apollonio, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University; Aiden O’Leary, Texas A&M University; Summer Beckworth, University of North Texas Health Science Center
  • 2020: No scholarships awarded due to pandemic
  • 2019:  Nicole Nir, DePaul University and Christine Tiballi, Southern California Institute of Architecture
  • 2018:  Barret Schlegelmilch, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • 2017:  Miles Bengtson, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University and Bryan Chan, Night Crew Labs
  • 2016:  Ekaterina Khvostova, George Washington University
  • 2015:  Jackelynne Silva-Martinez, NASA Johnson Space Center and Jonathan Stimmer, Teacher and Educator
  • 2014:  Brian Ramos, University of Rhode Island
  • 2013:  Charlotte Kiang, Wellesley College
  • 2012:  Julie Mason, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • 2011:  Jacob Gamsky, University of Kentucky
  • 2010:  Heather Bradshaw, University of Maryland
  • 2009:  Sara Langston, Leiden University
  • 2008:  Garrett Smith, Boston University
  • 2007:  Ian Christensen, George Washington University
  • 2006:  Kirk Kittell, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • 2005:  Jeffrey Kwong, Utah State University
  • 2004:  David Broniatowski, Massachusetts Institute of Technology